Deep Stack II

Apr 6, 2010 7:10 AM

The poker room at the Venetian on April 1 kicked off its Deep Stack Extravaganza II poker tournament, which continues through April 26.

While no limit hold’em is the primary game offered, the tournament also features Pot Limit Omaha, Omaha Hi-Lo and H.O.R.S.E. events.

True to its name ("Deep Stack"), each event starts with a significant amount of chips, generous blind structures and 40, 60 or 90-minute levels. Single table satellites will be held every day from 8 a.m. to 2 a.m.

Buy-ins range from $340 to $1,070, with the main event commanding a $2,500 buy-in.

On April 13, the Deep Stack Extravaganza will feature the annual Jennifer Harman (pictured) Charity Poker Tournament.

The Fourth Annual Jennifer Harman Charity Poker Tournament is a media and fan favorite, in which participants enjoy a rare opportunity to mingle and compete against Hollywood celebrities and world-famous poker players.

The $300 + $30 No-Limit Texas Hold’em tournament will take place on Tuesday, April 13 featuring $100 re-buys during the first three 20-minute levels and a one-time $100 add-on for twice the starting stack.

The event will begin at 4 p.m. with a red carpet and silent auction and emcee Matt Savage, kicking off the tournament at 5 p.m. All proceeds will benefit the Nevada Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (SPCA) No-Kill Animal Shelter.

The grand prize of the tournament is a $10,000 World Series of Poker Main Event Seat, and a Curtis & Co. watch. The top 10 finishers will be awarded prizes that have a combined total value of $30,000.

Expected celebrities to attend include "Melrose Place" Shaun Sipos, "Saved by the Bell" Dennis Haskins, "Peepshow" Holly Madison, "Sopranos" Robert Iler, actor Lou Diamond Phillips, actress Jennifer Tilly, modern artist Michael Godard, ESPN commentator Lon McEachern, comedian Louie Anderson, model and reality TV star Shanna Moakler, comedian Carrot Top, author Todd Wilbur, artist Robert McGreevy, actress Nancy Cartwright, celebrity hypnotist Marc Savard and professional poker players Marco Traniello, Daniel Negreanu, Phil Ivey, Doyle Brunson, Eli Elezra, Hoyt Corkins, Andy Bloch, Chau Giang, David Chesnoff, Lacey Jones, Jeff Madsen, Todd Brunson, James Van Alstyne, Shun Uchida, Erica Schoenberg, David Grey, David Singer and Lee Watkinson.

Last year’s champion David "HEYIMDRO" Rowan has been invited to return to defend his title, along with 2009 winner Seth Dupree. Professional player Kirk Morrison was the first annual champion who parlayed his first place World Series of Poker Main Event seat into $154,194, finishing in 56th place and donated five percent of his winnings back to the Nevada SPCA.

For more information, tournament structure, prizes, past event photo galleries and videos, visit