Sexton to play

Apr 13, 2010 7:07 AM

Mike Sexton is among the nominees for the World Series of Poker’s Tournament of Champions, which will be contested during this year’s World Series.

It’s an invitational event, in which fans can vote for their favorite players at

The inclusion of Mike is axiomatic, as he is deserved of his "Ambassador of Poker" title.

Last fall, Mike was inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame, another deserving honor. He became the 38th member of the honorary body, and the only one of the nine finalists last year to be inducted.

The remaining eight candidates, who were under consideration, remain eligible for future consideration.

Not only is Mike a tremendous spokesman and advocate of poker, he is a tremendous player, something he probably doesn’t get enough credit for.

Mike has amassed more than $3.7 million in career poker winnings spanning his 30-year career, and has become one of the most recognizable figures in the poker game as the main analyst for the WPT’s television coverage.

The 60-something poker enthusiast is also one of the most generous givers in the game today.

After winning the 2006 WSOP Tournament of Champions, he donated half of his $1 million prize to different charitable organizations. Last year, he formed, an organization that provides the poker community a better avenue to give back to worthy charitable causes.

A true gentleman who has constantly enhanced the game of poker both with his play at the tables and his promotion of the game, Mike is a noted author, columnist, broadcaster and businessman.

Mike won a WSOP gold bracelet in a Seven Card Stud event in 1989; was the WSOP Tournament of Champions champion in 2006; and ranks 11th all-time with 47 WSOP cashes.

Amazingly, Mike reached the final table in 20 of the 47 WSOP events he has cashed in. He cashed in the 2009 WSOP Main Event, and at the 2008 WSOP finished 4th in the World Championship Pot-Limit Hold’em event, earning $248,160.

Mike was inducted officially into the Hall of Fame during the finale of last year’s World Series of Poker Main Event championship in November.

The Poker Hall of Fame, established in 1979, was acquired by Harrah’s Entertainment along with the World Series of Poker in 2004. Though the Hall of Fame is virtual in nature, its membership includes poker’s most influential players and other important contributors to the game. There are 17 living members.

The main criteria for the Poker Hall of Fame includes:

• A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition

• Played for high stakes

• Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers

• Stood the test of time

• Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.


The entire list of the 38 Poker Hall of Fame members includes (alphabetical with year of induction in


Tom Abdo (1982)

Crandell Addington (2005)

Bobby Baldwin (2003)

Billy Baxter (2006)

Lyle Berman (2002)

Joe Bernstein (1983)

Benny Binion (1990)

Jack Binion (2005)

Bill Boyd (1981)

Doyle Brunson (1988)

Johnny Chan (2002)

T.J. Cloutier (2006)

Nick "The Greek" Dandolos (1979)

Barbara Enright (2007)

Fred "Sarge" Ferris (1989)

T "Blondie" Forbes (1980)

Henry Green (1986)

Murph Harrold (1984)

Phil "Poker Brat" Hellmuth (2007)

James Butler "Wild Bill" Hickok (1979)

Red Hodges (1985)

Edmond Hoyle (1979)

Berry Johnston (2004)

Jack Keller (1993)

Felton "Corky" McCorquodale (1979)

Roger Moore (1997)

Johnny Moss (1979)

Henry Orenstein (2008)

Walter Clyde "Puggy" Pearson (1987)

Julius Oral "Little Man" Popwell (1996)

Thomas Austin "Amarillo Slim" Preston (1992)

David "Chip" Reese (1991)

Mike Mike (2009)

Jack "Treetop" Straus (1988)

Duane "Dewey" Tomko (2008)

Stu "The Kid" Ungar (2001)

Red Winn (1979)

Sid Wyman (1979)