World Series of Poker Player of the Year changes

Jun 7, 2011 3:03 AM

For seven weeks every summer, poker players flock to the World Series of Poker to chase down big scores, gold bracelets and Player of the Year points. Those POY points will now be built around a modified version of the BLUFF Player of the Year formula.

"It’s been obvious that our Player of the Year system needed a little bypass surgery," said Ty Stewart, WSOP vice president. "BLUFF’s new POY format has been lauded by players as the best and most complete in the industry, so they were natural partners to help us tweak our model. We look forward to watching the excitement play out across all 62 open bracelet events.

The new system awards points in the 54 preliminary WSOP events and all seven WSOP Europe events based on three multipliers: buy-in, field size and finishing position. Players who cash in any event other than the Ladies Championship, the Casino Employees Event and the Seniors Championship will be awarded POY points.

Due to the massive field size and large buy-in, the WSOP Main Event has its own point system. The winner of the Main Event will automatically earn 500 POY points, the runner-up 350, with the bottom 50% of those who cashed earning 25 points.

Cody Heads-Up winner

England’s Jake Cody won the richest heads-up poker tourney in history, earning $851,192. The $25,000 buy-in to the "Heads-Up No-Limit Hold’em Championship was his first WSOP victory.

Cody had previously earned major tournament victories in France (EPT Deauville) and Great Britain (WPT London), both of which came within the past 18 months. But this win was truly special since it placed Cody among the elite club of WSOP champions.

The tournament attracted 128 entries and set a new record as the biggest heads-up prize pool ever for any poker series. The total prize pool amounted to $3,040,000.

Moneymaker again!

In what was billed as a "Grudge Match" redux of the epic poker duel that took place at the 2003 World Series of Poker Main Event, Chris Moneymaker beat Sammy Farha in the repeat match.

The Moneymaker-Farha heads-up match held eight years ago, won by the then-unknown newcomer to the poker scene, is widely considered by most authorities as the quintessential moment in history that ignited what has been referred to as the modern poker boom.

Following Moneymaker’s shocking victory at Binion’s Horseshoe in downtown Las Vegas, everything changed. The recreational poker "everyman" transformed the lives of millions of people who suddenly became devoted poker players and fans.

Poker became popular on television. Everyone with a computer started logging on and playing poker online. Poker became chic.


• New York City resident Eugene Katchalov won the first of two seven-card stud (high) tournaments, earning $122,909 in prize money. Katchalov was also presented with a WSOP gold bracelet. This marked his first WSOP victory.

• Cheech Barbaro, a former bartender from Chicago, won the largest live Omaha high-low split tournament in history worth $252,283.

It was the first WSOP victory of his poker career.