One of Cripple Creek’s historic hotels has been lauded by a statewide historic preservation organization. The Hotel St. Nicholas received Colorado Preservation Inc.’s State Honor Award. The award is given annually to worthy historic preservation projects.
The Hotel St. Nicholas, owned and operated by Noel and Denise Perran and Susan Adelbush, is the restored 1890’s St. Nicholas Hospital, one of Cripple Creek’s historic preservation jewels.
It took a year of renovation work (most of it done by the owners themselves) and almost $450,000 to transform a rundown hospital into the present show piece.
The hotel features 15 rooms, some with balconies, all with private baths, and all in the rich Victorian decor that once was so common in the 1890’s gold rush town of Cripple Creek. The main floor features the Boiler Room Tavern, so named because the bar back is the front plate off the original coal boiler.
The original St. Nicholas Hospital at 235 E. Eaton was founded in 1897 by the Sisters of Mercy. It was one of the first hospitals established in Cripple Creek.
In 1901, Teller County opened the second hospital in Cripple Creek, located in what is now another historic inn — the Hospitality House. The Sisters claimed their facility to be "thoroughly equipped with all modern improvements, beautifully located with the best physicians in the district in attendance."
The hospital served a busy gold mining district during its heyday. Today, the hotel serves the visitors to the mining district who come to view the rich history and partake in the limited-stakes gambling.