Exclusive Content   Join Now

WSOP works down to final 2 players

Nov 11, 2008 5:00 PM

The Inside Straight by Joe Awada |

It’s taken a while, but the World Series is nearly ready to crown a champion after a four month wait.

The final table was played Sunday, with two players remaining – they will play heads-up beginning Monday night and culminating most likely Tuesday morning.

Ivan Demidov and Peter Eastgate outlasted their competition and became the two last players of the $10,000 buy-in Main Event.

When action began on Sunday, short stack Kelly Kim was not the first player eliminated. Instead, that dubious honor went to Craig Marquis. Kim was not far behind, however. Despite an early double-up, the chip stacks of the other players proved to be an insurmountable obstacle.

Perhaps bigger news than the two early eliminations was the play of Russian Ivan Demidov early. Demidov won a monster pot off Dennis Phillips (the chip leader at start of play) to assume the chip lead.

New Yorker and chess Jedi Ylon Schwartz would be eliminated next when he got all-in with ace-high against Eastgate’s full house.

It took 14 hours to do it, but the final elimination of the night came in the wee hours of the morning when Dennis Phillips, the chip leader to start the day, finally succumbed to a lack of chips. Phillips shoved with a draw and got looked up by Eastgate with a set.

Demidov and Eastgate are the two remaining players, which means we will have a European winner at the WSOP this year, and Eastgate even has a shot at breaking Hellmuth’s record as the youngest WSOP winner.

First place pays $9.1 million while second returns $5.8 million.

Here is the order of finish and prize awards for the other finalists:

3. Dennis Phillips $4,517,773

4. Ylon Schwartz, $3,794,974

5. Scott Montgomery,$3,096,768

6. Darus Suharto, $2,418,562

7. David Rheem, $1,772,650

8. Kelly Kim, $1,288,217

9. Craig Marquis, $900,670