VIP & VIP+
Exclusive Content   Join Now

NHL Hockey Betting Tip of the Day Colorado Avalanche at Minnesota Wild - 12 01-08

Dec 1, 2008 7:24 PM

by GT Staff |

NHL Hockey

Colorado Avalanche at Minnesota Wild

Excel Energy Center, St. Paul, Minnesota

TV: Versus

Time: 8:05ET/7:05CT/5:05PT

 

Colorado Avalanche at Minnesota Wild (-165, 5o -130): Colorado (11-12-0) lost captain Joe Sakic indefinitely with a back injury and the 39-year-old legend will not even make the trip to Minnesota. Last season, the Wild swept (4-0) the Avalanche on home ice, outscoring them 13-6 in the process.

So far this year, Minnesota (14-7-1) has been equally impressive on the road and at home (7-4-1). Goaltender Backstrom (2.15 GAA, 13-6-1, .928 save percentage has been phenomenal and is currently among the league leaders in several categories. The Wild have also outscored their opponents to date by 15 goals (62-47) and because of Backstrom and backup netminder Harding, have allowed the least goals in the NHL.

Protecting home turf is one of the most important things in hockey and good teams are much better at that facet of the game than bad to average teams – where I see Colorado right now.

Also noteworthy is the fact that Minnesota is tops in the NHL on the power play (89.5%) and Backstrom is a perfect 12 for 12 stopping attempts in shootouts this season.

Embrace logic. WILD -165.

Gambler's note: All but one MNF has gone OVER the total this season. The number for tonight's Jaguars-Texans game is 47 1/2.