VIP & VIP+
Exclusive Content   Join Now

NCAA College Football Betting Tip of the Day Sugar Bowl - Alabama vs. Utah - 01-02-09

Jan 2, 2009 5:00 PM

by GT Staff |

College Football

Sugar Bowl

Alabama vs. Utah

Louisiana Superdome, New Orleans, Louisiana

Time: 8:15ET/7:15CT/5:15PT

Alabama (-10½, 45) vs. Utah (FOX): Probably not the game either team wanted but this interesting match-up between the undefeated Utes (12-0) and the Crimson Tide, two teams who can play some defense as the total reveals, should be a fun watch.

Alabama was just 15 minutes away from earning a chance to play in the national title game but Tim Tebow and Florida, who are playing in the national championship game (Jan. 8), had plans of their own.

Utah finished No. 12 in the nation in scoring defense (17.3 PPG), but most of that came from playing its somewhat weak MWC schedule which included patsies like San Diego State, UNLV and Wyoming,

The only way I see Utah hanging with such a talented team as Alabama is by playing solid defense, which they can most certainly do. The Utes are 0-6 lifetime against SEC foes and laying the 10½ seems a tad too high for an undefeated team so let’s look for the final score to duck under the total of 45 points. UNDER 45.