Bookies Battle features nation's best!

Aug 27, 2002 5:36 AM

GamingToday’s annual Bookies BattleTM has become one of the newspaper’s most popular features. The reason? Simply, it features the nation’s top sports handicappers picking every NFL game against the point spread.

This year’s competition features more participants than ever before, and to add to the excitement, GamingToday has licensed Bookies BattleTM and will syndicate the weekly feature in a major publication, to be announced.

Last year’s Bookies Battle was won by Rob Akers of the Venetian. Rob finished the season with a stellar 136-82 record, for a 62 percent winning ratio. Only three of the sports directors failed to hit a .500 record, and the overall consensus was 125-93. Here are this year’s contestants.



Aladdin-Casey Maloni

Arizona Charlie’s E.-Patrick Rethore

Arizona Charlie’s W.-Kitt Langvad

Bally’s-Bob Stowell

Barbary Coast-Bert Osborne

Barley’s-Vincent Robles

Bellagio-Jimmy Croley

Binion’s-Peter DiFulvio

Boardwalk-Julie Kraff

Boulder Station-Kelly Airgood

Caesars Palace-Chuck Esposito

Caesars Tahoe-Steve Forester

Cal Neva-Sports Director

Castaways-D. Wayne Maulden

Circus Circus-Casey Lewless

Circus Circus Reno-Chuck Thomas

Edgewater-John Boyer

Eldorado Hend.-Wayne Braddock

Excalibur-Jon Schied

Fiesta Hend.-Ed Peebles

Fiesta Rancho- Bert Cirincione

Flamingo LV-Bill Kane

Flamingo Laughlin-Bill Fogg

Foxwoods (CT)-Karen Klimas

Fremont-Carol A. Boyd

Gold Coast-Nikkie Commisso

Golden Nugget-Caesar Villacicencio

Golden Nug. Laugh.-Paul Kanata

Hard Rock-Jamie Shea

Harrah’s-Jack Frost

Imperial Palace-Jay Kornegay

Jerry’s Nugget-Rich Taylor

Joker’s Wild-Scott Elliott

Las Vegas Club-Tony Nevill

Las Vegas Hilton-Cyril Burger

Leroy’s-Bob Smith

Luxor-Mike Davis

Mandalay Bay-Hugh Citron

MGM Grand-Lamarr Mitchell

Monte Carlo-Tom Wilczynski

New Frontier-Rob Terch

New York-New York-Michael Piranio

Palace Station-Hugh Ledford

Palms-Fred Crespi

Paris Las Vegas-Al Beal

Plaza-Ranse Brown

Primadonna-Glynis Mickelian

Rampart-Eric St. Clair

Reno Hilton-Tom Sullivan

Riverside-Mike Circosta

Sam’s Town-Tony Paonessa

Santa Fe-Tony Miller

Stardust-Joe Lupo

Stratosphere-Robert Jaynes

Suncoast-Eddie Ricca

Sunset Station-Brad Bryant

Terrible’s-Doug Beil

Texas Station-Linc Romans

The Mirage-Don Botticello

The Orleans-Don Williams

The Rio-Dennis Houser

The Venetian-Rob Akers

Treasure Island-Trudy Smuin

Virgin River-Chris Day

Wild Wild West-Chris Davis

Wildfire-Trick Sixty