Jan 7, 2003 5:35 AM


Wednesday, January 8

SESSION ONE: Methods for Measuring Slot Profitability

8:30 a.m. - 9:30 a.m

Part I: An Operator’s Take

10 a.m. to 10:45 a.m

Part II: Slot Pricing: A New Deal

Moderator: Charles Anderer, Vice President Group Publisher, GEM Communications. Speakers: Joe Bailo, Chief Sales Officer, Atronic Americas LLC; Ward Chilton, Sr. Vice President of North American Sales, International Game Technology; Bob Sobczyk, Vice President of Slot Operations, Ameristar Casinos

SESSION TWO: Building Player Loyalty

11 a.m. - noon

Part I: Strategies for Building Player Loyalty

Moderator: Stowe Shoemaker, Associate Professor, William F. Harrah College of Hotel Administration, UNLV. Speakers: Staci Columbo, Corporate Vice President/Marketing & Advertising, Station Casinos; David Norton, Senior Vice President of Loyalty Marketing, Harrah’s Entertainment, Inc.; Javier Saenz, Director of Information Solutions, Venture Catalysts Inc.

12: 15 p.m. - 12:45 p.m.

Part II: Station’s Success

Presenter: Scott Kreeger, Vice President & Assistant General Manager, Texas Station

12:45 p.m. - 2:15 p.m.

Keynote Luncheon

Marc Falcone, Managing Director, Deutsche Bank Securities, Inc., gives a presentation titled "The Slot Market - Wall Street’s View" SESSION THREE: Cashless Gaming

2:15 p.m. - 3:15 p.m.

Part I: Alternative Payment Systems

Presenter: Peter DeRaedt, President, Gaming Standards Association

3:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Part II: Regulatory Impacts and Operator Challenges

Moderator: Patrick Leen, Co-owner, Gaming Regulatory Consultants. Speakers: John Chamberlain, Director of Field Engineering, International Game Technology; John Hawkins, Vice President Slot Operations, Greektown Casino; James Maida, President, Gaming Laboratories International; Mark McDermott, Chief of Electronic Services, Nevada Gaming Control Board; Gregg Solomon, Senior Vice President, Operations, Mandalay Resort Group


9:00 a.m.

Keynote Session

Frank Fahrenkopf, Jr., President & CEO, American Gaming Association

9:30 a.m.

The Politics of Gaming

Moderator: Richard Bryan, Senior Partner, Lionel Sawyer & Collins and Former Nevada U.S. Senator. Speakers: Scott Bensing, Chief of Staff, Senator John Ensign; Alan Feldman, Senior Vice President, Public Affairs, MGM MIRAGE; James Ryan, Jr., Chief Counsel and Floor Policy Director, Office of the Assistant Democratic Leader and Whip, U.S. Senator Harry Reid (D-NV); Nancy Todd Tyner, President, Nancy Todd Inc.

11:00 a.m.

Ethics and Governance Panel

Moderator: Richard Morgan, Dean, William S. Boyd School of Law. Speakers: Robert Faiss, Senior Partner, Lionel Sawyer & Collins, Las Vegas; Mark Lerner, Vice President, Senior General Counsel, Alliance Gaming Corp.; Thomas Peterman, Senior Vice President of Corporate Legas Affairs & General Counsel, MGM Grand Hotel & Casino; Kim Sinatra, Executive Vice President & Chief Legal Officer, Park Place Entertainment; Jeff Stempel, Professor of Law, William S. Boyd School of Law; Robert Stewart, Senior Vice President Corporate Communications, Park Place Entertainment

12:30 p.m.

Keynote Luncheon

Emcee: Ashley Smith, President, GEM Communications

Introductions: Jan Jones, Senior Vice President Communications and Government Relations, Harrah’s Entertainment, Inc.; Andrew Zarnett, Managing Director, Deutsche Bank Securities Inc.

Speakers: Frank Biondi, Jr., Senior Managing Director, WaterView Advisors LLC ; Willie Brown,Jr., Mayor, City of San Francisco

2:00 p.m.

The Human Resource: The Casino Employment Environment

Moderator: Ann McGinley, Professor of Law, William S. Boyd School of Law. Speakers: Judy Patterson, Senior Vice President & Executive Director, American Gaming Association; D. Taylor, Las Vegas Culinary Workers Union Local 226; Debbie Thomas, Vice President of Human Resources, The Mirage

2:00 p.m.

The Convention Market

Moderator: Jan Jones, Senior Vice President, Communications and Government Relations, Harrah’s Entertainment, Inc. Speakers: Jeff Beckelman, Executive Director, Reno-Sparks Convention Authority; Manuel Cortez, President and Chief Executive Officer, Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority; Jeffrey Vasser, Executive Director, Atlantic City Convention & Visitors Authority

3:30 p.m.

Today’s Transforming Âí­Technologies

Moderator: Charles Anderer, Vice President/ Group Publisher, GEM Communications. Speakers: Robert Geib, Director of Portal Services, PeopleSoft; James Maida, President, Gaming Laboratories International; Saverio R. Scheri III, Managing Director, WhiteSand Consulting; Safwan Shah, President and CEO, Infonox; Tim Stanley, Vice President Information Technology, Harrah’s Entertainment, Inc.

3:30 p.m.

Securing the Fort: The ABCs of Risk Management

Moderator: Ellen Whittemore, Of Counsel, Lionel Sawyer & Collins, Las Vegas. Speakers: Thomas Auriemma, Director, New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement; Steven Batzer, Senior Vice President, Global Practice Leader-Gaming, Marsh USA; Kyle Edwards, Vice President Security, MGM MIRAGE; George Togliatti, Corporate Director of Government & Community Relations, Harrah’s Entertainment, Inc.

7:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Lifetime Achievement Award Dinner

Recipient: Phil Satre, Chairman, Harrah’s Entertainment


9:00 a.m.

General Session: Executive


Moderator: Robert Faiss, Senior Partner, Lionel Sawyer & Collins, Las Vegas. Panelists: G. Thomas Baker, President and Chief Executive Officer, International Game Technology; J. Terrence Lanni, Chairman and CEO, MGM MIRAGE; Paul Rubeli, Chairman and CEO, Aztar Corporation; Philip G. Satre, Chairman, Harrah’s Entertainment, Inc.; Daniel Tucker, Vice Chairman, National Indian Gaming Association

11:00 a.m.

How to Target the Leisure Âí­Traveler

Moderator: Jamie McKee, Editor/Associate Publisher, Casino Journal. Speakers: Lorraine Hunt, Lieutenant Governor, Nevada; Stephen Richer, Executive Director, Mississippi Gulf Coast Convention & Visitors Bureau; Peter Yesawich, President & CEO, Yesawich, Pepperdine & Brown

11:00 a.m.

New Growth Horizons: Tribal Gaming, Racing and the Internet

Moderator: Sara Beth Brown, Senior Vice President and General Counsel, International Game Technology; Vince Eade, Founding Director, UNLV International Gaming Institute, William F. Harrah College of Hotel Administration, UNLV. Speakers: Anthony Cabot, Chairman, Gaming Practice Group, Lionel Sawyer & Collins; Steve Rittvo, President, The Innovation Group; Sebastian Sinclair, President, Christiansen Capital Advisors; Kent Young, Vice President Marketing,

Aristocrat Technologies, Inc.

12:30 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.

Awards Luncheon

Presentation of: Most Innovative Product Awards