NCAA Over / Under Win Total wagering for UCLA Bruins

Jul 18, 2012 5:30 AM

 

UCLA Bruins

 (Note: GT sports editor Mark Mayer will assess the 35 college football teams on the LVH sports book list of OVER / UNDER win totals leading up to the Aug. 30 season openers.)

UCLA Bruins: Over / under 6 wins

Pleading the case:

• The Bruins underachieved under Rick Neuheisel, who himself could be argued was overrated as a head coach. 

• The Bruins ranked 19th nationally in recruiting for the past five years, which may not be USC numbers but isn’t Tulane.

• There’s a buzz about redshirt freshman RB Steven Manfro, who is being called “White Mamba” for the way he moves all over the field.

• New coach Jim Mora brings a new attitude to campus and a solid resume.

• All the real difficult games are at home in the Rose Bowl. A nice, winnable opener on the road against Rice.

Prediction: OVER. If UCLA can avoid key injuries and find a decent QB who throws the ball beyond 10 yards, 7-5 is legitimate.

2012  UCLA Bruins  Schedule

Thu, Aug 30 at Rice 7:30 pm

Sat, Sep 8 (24) Nebraska 7:30 pm

Sat, Sep 15 (18) Houston 10:30 pm

Sat, Sep 22 Oregon State TBA

Sat, Sep 29 at Colorado TBA

Sat, Oct 6 at California TBA

Sat, Oct 13 Utah TBA

Sat, Oct 27 at Arizona State TBA

Sat, Nov 3 Arizona TBA

Sat, Nov 10 at Washington State TBA

Sat, Nov 17 (6) USC TBA

Sat, Nov 24 (7) Stanford TBA

Head coach: Jim Mora