Tony Dungy heads nominees for NFL Hall of Fame

Nov 21, 2013 9:42 AM

Three former coaches, a commissioner and an owner are among the list of 25 semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s class of 2014.

Heading the list are Super Bowl winning coaches Tony Dungy and Jimmy Johnson along with Don Coryell, retired NFL commissioner Paul Tagliabue former San Francisco 49ers owner Eddie DeBartolo, Jr.

Dungy, linebacker Derrick Brooks, wide receiver Marvin Harrison and offensive tackle were the first-year eligible candidates to make the cut from 126 to 25. Brooks won a Super Bowl with Tampa Bay, while Harrison and Dungy were champions with Indianapolis.

Other star players being considered for induction to the Canton, Ohio, shrine next August include placekicker Morten Andersen, running back Jerome Bettis, defensive end-linebacker Charles Haley, safety John Lynch and defensive end Michael Strahan.

The Hall of Fame election will be held Feb. 1, the night before the Super Bowl, in New York.

Along with Harrison, who is third in career receptions with 1,102, Brooks, Dungy and Jones, two other previously eligible candidates made the final 25 for the modern era: two-time Super Bowl winning Dallas coach  Johnson and guard Steve Wisniewski.

The list of 25 semifinalists will be reduced to 15 modern-era finalists. Those 15 will be joined by two recommended candidates from hall’s seniors committee: punter Ray Guy and defensive end Claude Humphrey.

Although there is no set number of enshrinees for any Hall of Fame class, between four and seven new members are selected each year. No more than five modern-era nominees can be elected in a given year.

Here are the semifinalists, in alphabetical order:

Morten Andersen, PK; Steve Atwater, S; Jerome Bettis, RB; Derrick Brooks, LB; Tim Brown, WR-KR.

Don Coryell, Coach; Roger Craig, RB; Terrell Davis, RB; Edward DeBartolo Jr., Owner; Tony Dungy, Coach.

Kevin Greene, LB-DE; Charles Haley, DE-LB; Marvin Harrison, WR; Joe Jacoby, OT; Jimmy Johnson, Coach.

Walter Jones, OT; John Lynch, S; Karl Mecklenburg, LB; Andre Reed, WR; Will Shields, G

Michael Strahan, DE; Paul Tagliabue, Commissioner; Aeneas Williams, CB-S; Steve Wisniewski, G; George Young, Contributor.

Contact us at [email protected].

 GamingToday on Facebook      and         GamingToday on Twitter