Sports Betting Hall Of Fame Welcomes Four New North American Members is an independent sports news and information service. has partnerships with some of the top legal and licensed sportsbook companies in the US. When you claim a bonus offer or promotion through a link on this site, Gaming Today may receive referral compensation from the sportsbook company. Although the relationships we have with sportsbook companies may influence the order in which we place companies on the site, all reviews, recommendations, and opinions are wholly our own. They are the recommendations from our authors and contributors who are avid sports fans themselves.

For more information, please read How We Rank Sportsbooks, Privacy Policy, or Contact Us with any concerns you may have.

Gaming Today is licensed and regulated to operate in AZ, CO, CT, DC, IA, IL, IN, KS, LA, MD, MI, NV, NJ, NY, PA, TN, VA, WV, & WY.

Chris Andrews, Paul Burns, Sandy Drozd, and Vinny Magliulo will be inducted into the Sports Betting Hall of Fame this summer, SBC announced Monday.

The induction ceremony will be held at the Meadowlands in East Rutherford, New Jersey on July 13 as part of SBC Summit North America, a sports betting and igaming industry conference and tradeshow scheduled for July 12-14.

“As the industry enjoys substantial growth in multiple U.S. states and Canada, the Sports Betting Hall of Fame ceremony is an opportunity to celebrate the contributions of some of the trailblazers who have helped to make the current success possible,” Sue Schneider, SBC’s Vice President of Growth and Strategy, Americas, said in a statement.

Andrews, Sports Book Director at the South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa in Las Vegas, is a veteran Nevada bookmaker, whose career dates back more than four decades, including more than 20 years at Club Cal Neva in Reno and stints at Golden Nugget and American Wagering. He’s authored two books about his career – “Then One Day…: 40 Years of Bookmaking in Las Vegas” and “Then One Year…History’s Craziest Year as Seen by a Las Vegas Bookmaker” – and has written for several websites and publications, including Gaming Today.

Paul Burns has been with the Canadian Gaming Association for 17 years, the last four as President & CEO, a role that takes on new prominence with the recent regulation of sports betting in Ontario.

Sandy Drozd, Vice President of USBookmaking, joins Vic Salerno as the second member of that company to earn induction into the Hall of Fame.

Vinny Magliulo is Vice President, Las Vegas Dissemination Company & Sports Book Director, Gaughan Gaming, and works alongside Andrews and 2021 Hall of Fame inductee Jimmy Vaccaro at the Michael Gaughan-owned South Point. His career stops have also included Caesars Palace and The Wynn.

North American Members Of The Sports Betting Hall Of Fame

SBC launched the Sports Betting Hall of Fame in 2016 and began inducting North American members in 2019, the year after the U.S. Supreme Court struck down PASPA, the federal law that prohibited sports betting in all but a few states.

Here are each year’s North American classes:

Chris Christie, Former Governor, New Jersey
Dennis Drazin, Chairman PlayUp USA, Chairman and CEO of Darby Development, operator of Monmouth Park
Art Manteris, VP Race and Sports Book Operations, Station Casinos (Retired)

Raymond Lesniak, Former NJ Senator
Jay Rood, Chief Risk Officer, Bet.Works.
Roxy Roxborough, Legendary Las Vegas Oddsmaker
Vic Salerno, President, USBookmaking
Sara Slane, Founder, Slane Advisory, former SVP, American Gaming Association (AGA)

Yolanda Acuña, Former Resorts International Director of Race & Sports Administration, MGM
Joe Asher, President of Sports Betting, IGT
Johnny Avello, Director of Race & Sportsbook Operations, DraftKings
Joe Brennan Jr, Founder & CEO of Sport AD
Jimmy Vaccaro, Sports Marketing Director, South Point Hotel & Casino

Q&A: Sara Slane on women’s vitality to sports betting industry

About the Author
Marcus DiNitto

Marcus DiNitto

Sr. News Editor
Marcus DiNitto is Senior News Editor for Gaming Today. He has been managing editor at national sports websites SportsBusiness Daily, Sporting News, and The Linemakers, as well as with licensed sportsbook operator USA Sports Gaming. Marcus graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and earned his MBA from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte.

Get connected with us on Social Media