Jack Adams Award Odds: Canucks Coach Rick Tocchet Offers Good Value

GamingToday.com is an independent sports news and information service. GamingToday.com has partnerships with some of the top legal and licensed sportsbook companies in the US. When you claim a bonus offer or promotion through a link on this site, Gaming Today may receive referral compensation from the sportsbook company. Although the relationships we have with sportsbook companies may influence the order in which we place companies on the site, all reviews, recommendations, and opinions are wholly our own. They are the recommendations from our authors and contributors who are avid sports fans themselves.

For more information, please read How We Rate Sportsbooks, Privacy Policy, or Contact Us with any concerns you may have.

Gaming Today is licensed and regulated to operate in AR, AZ, CO, CT, DC, IA, IL, IN, KS, LA, MA, MD, MI, NH, NV, NJ, NY, OH, OR, PA, TN, VA, WV & WY.

The Jack Adams Award is presented annually to the NHL coach “adjudged to have contributed the most to his team’s success,” according to NHL.com.

The award, for the NHL’s Coach of the Year, is decided by a poll of the NHL Broadcasters Association. The award has been presented since 1974. The Jack Adams Award is based on regular-season play.

Vancouver coach Rick Tocchet might be a smart play for the Jack Adams Award. His odds to win the Jack Adams Award are +900, tied for the second-best odds behind Vegas’ Bruce Cassidy at +800. Another looker could be Anaheim coach Greg Cronin, who has the Ducks off to a 7-4 start. Anaheim had the fewest points in the NHL last season with 58.

Traditionally, there are several paths to winning the award. One is to have a record-setting, superior team that clearly is the best club in the regular season. That’s how Boston Bruins coach Jim Montgomery won last year’s award. The Bruins set NHL records for most victories with 65 and most points with 135.

Boston’s remarkable regular season didn’t mean much in the playoffs, as the Bruins lost to Florida in the first round.

The other traditional path to being named Coach of the Year is when a team unexpectedly has success — usually making the playoffs. If you’re interested in placing a bet on the Jack Adams Award winner, that might be your smartest move. Have a low-level team that shows inklings of success? That could lead to the Coach of the Year award.

Only one coach has won the award in consecutive seasons: Jacques Demers with the Detroit Red Wings in 1986-87 and 1987-88.

Check out the latest Jack Adams Award odds.

Get Up to $1,500 Paid Back in Bonus Bets
UP TO $1,500
In Bonus Bets
$1,500 Paid Back in Bonus Bets
Free Live Streaming - Watch Live Games 
Use Bonus Code: TODAY

2023-24 Jack Adams Award Odds (DraftKings)

  • Bruce Cassidy, Vegas Golden Knights: +800
  • Rick Tocchet, Vancouver Canucks: +900
  • Greg Cronin, Anaheim Ducks: +900
  • Peter Laviolette, New York Rangers: +1200
  • Jared Bednar, Colorado Avalanche: +1400
  • Derek Lalonde, Detroit Red Wings: +1400
  • Todd McLellan, Los Angeles Kings: +1500
  • Rod Brind’Amour, Carolina Hurricanes: +1500
  • Peter DeBoer, Dallas Stars: +1500
  • Lindy Ruff, New Jersey Devils: +1500
  • Jim Montgomery, Boston Bruins: +1800
  • Andre Tourigny, Arizona Coyotes: +2000
  • Sheldon Keefe, Toronto Maple Leafs: +2000
  • Rick Bowness, Winnipeg Jets: +2000
  • Paul Maurice, Florida Panthers: +2000
  • Jay Woodcroft, Edmonton Oilers: +2000
  • D.J. Smith, Ottawa Senators: +2000
  • Lane Lambert,  New York Islanders: +2500
  • Jon Cooper, Tampa Bay Lightning: +2500
  • John Tortorella, Philadelphia Flyers: +2500
  • Andrew Brunette, Nashville Predators: +3000
  • Martin St. Louis, Montreal Canadiens: +3000
  • Don Granato, Buffalo Sabres: +3000
  • Dean Evason, Minnesota Wild: +3500
  • Spencer Carbery, Washington Capitals: +4000
  • Pascal Vincent, Columbus Blue Jackets: +4000
  • Ryan Huska, Calgary Flames: +4500
  • Mike Sullivan, Pittsburgh Penguins: +4500
  • Craig Berube, St. Louis Blues: +5000
  • Luke Richardson, Chicago Blackhawks: +5000
  • Dave Hakstol, Seattle Kraken: +5000
  • David Quinn, San Jose Sharks: +30000

Some thinking behind the odds, accepting it’s very early in the season. For our money, Tocchet has the combination of the best odds and a team with an upside.

The Canucks have shown a balanced lineup, good goaltending and scoring, and are putting themselves in position to be a factor this season. Vancouver has missed the playoffs seven of the last eight seasons. Plus, Tocchet is well-regarded around the league.

Vancouver is off to an 8-2-1 start for the second-most points in the Western Conference and tied for the third-most in the NHL. Should Vancouver continue to play well, and make the playoffs, voters will look Tocchet’s way.

Brind’Amour’s Hurricanes are expected to be Stanley Cup contenders. Should he have Carolina at the top of the Eastern Conference standings, he could be a strong candidate.

Derek Lalonde’s Red Wings haven’t made the playoffs since 2016. There was preseason buzz about Detroit’s improved team poised to make a Stanley Cup playoff run. That would fit into scenario No. 2 — the breakthrough season.

Tampa Bay and Colorado, recent powerhouses, both lost in the first round last season. If the Lightning and Avalanche’s regular season appears to put them on the cusp of playoff greatness, their coach could be rewarded with the Jack Adams Award.

Claim Your $1,200 Bonus at DraftKings Sportsbook
UP TO $1,200 BONUS
New User Bonus. T&Cs Apply
DraftKings Promo: Bet $5 Get $150
PLUS $50 Bonus Bet on First $5+ Deposit
PLUS up to $1,000 Deposit Bonus 
PLUS a Daily No Sweat Same Game Parlay 
Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER 
To Claim: Click Play Now

Last 10 Jack Adams Award Winners

  • 2023: Jim Montgomery, Boston Bruins
  • 2022: Darryl Sutter, Calgary Flames
  • 2021: Rod Brind’Amour, Carolina Hurricanes
  • 2020: Bruce Cassidy, Boston Bruins
  • 2019: Barry Trotz, New York Islanders
  • 2018: Gerard Gallant, Vegas Golden Knights
  • 2017: John Tortorella, Columbus Blue Jackets
  • 2016: Barry Trotz, Washington Capitals
  • 2015: Bob Hartley, Calgary Flames
  • 2014: Patrick Roy, Colorado Avalanche

Stanley Cup Odds Update (FanDuel)

There was major movement with the Stanley Cup odds this week on FanDuel.

The Vegas Golden Knights — not even in the top five last week — now have the third-best odds at +1000. Vegas (11-1-1) suffered its first loss on Sunday night to Anaheim. Vegas’ 11 wins set the NHL record for most victories by a defending Cup champion to start a season.

Colorado remains the favorite to win the Stanley Cup. Colorado’s odds moved from +800 last week to +750 this week. The Avalanche, the 2022 Stanley Cup champions, are 7-3-0, one point behind the Dallas Stars in the Central Division.

Dallas moved into the top five at +1100, along with the Toronto Maple Leafs, New Jersey Devils, and slumping Edmonton Oilers (2-7-1).

Read more: NHL odds | Stanley Cup odds and picksBest NHL betting apps | Best NHL betting promos and bonuses

New Players get up to $150 in Bonus Bets at FanDuel Sportsbook
Bet $5
Get $150
In Bonus Bets
Up to $150 in Bonus Bets if Your Team Wins
Available on Desktop, Android & iOS
To Claim: Click Play Now

About the Author
Chuck Bausman

Chuck Bausman

Sports Betting Writer
Chuck Bausman is a sports betting writer at Gaming Today. Bausman has worked 30+ years in journalism and is a former executive sports editor of the Philadelphia Daily News and managing editor of Philly Hockey Now. He is a journalism professor at Rider University.

Get connected with us on Social Media